Chapter History

The Chesterfield Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was the vision of Sorors Grace Norbrey, Rosemary Gaskin and Michelle Davis. They worked diligently from 1993 to 1995 to coordinate efforts and set the framework in motion for the Chesterfield Alumnae Chapter. These initiators collaborated with a network of Sorors to meet the criteria to obtain the charter. There were 47 charter members who established a viable foundation for the chapter in Chesterfield County, Virginia. The chapter was chartered on March 11, 1995, at Oscars in Brandermill Woods, Midlothian, Virginia. Regional Director, Nettie Faulcon of the South Atlantic Region conducted the impressive ceremony and presented the charter to the chapter.

Since its chartering, the members have worked actively to ensure a significant difference in the lives of Chesterfield, County residents. It's initiatives have awarded thousands of dollars in scholarships; organized and hosted a historic gubernatorial debate; hosted one of the first “ No Child Left Behind” forums for the South Atlantic Region; participated in the March of Dimes NICU Family Support Book Drive; Habitat for Humanity; Voter Registration Drives; hosted a Restoration of Rights forum; Mentoring programs; Adopt-a- School programs; Grow with Google technical workshops and annually support Delta Days at the State and Nation’s Capital.

The chapter has hosted several major fundraisers to include Debutante Ball, Delta Kappa Ball, Delta/Omega Scholarship Ball, and a golf tournament which support our scholarship fund and other service projects.

Community Service Projects Include:

  • Habitat for Humanity and (YMCA) Bright Beginnings
  • Book Drives
  • Adopt-A-School (a partnership with area schools that furnishes school supplies, mentoring opportunities, and other support for students)
  • Sponsored drives to provide Chromebooks for students at Falling Creek Middle School
  • Mentoring Programs - Dr. Betty Shabazz Delta Academy, Dr. Jeanne L. Noble Delta GEMS, and EMBODI
  • Hosted several Virginia Educational Symposiums.
  • Conducted mock job interviews for Caritas program participants
  • Co-hosted a homeownership workshop
  • Financial Management programs for youth and adults
  • Sponsored a historic gubernatorial debate (2005) on the campus of Virginia Union University (The first forum of its type at a Historically Black University)
  • Hosted one of the first No Child Left Behind forums for the South Atlantic Region
  • Regularly hosts Restoration of Rights forums
  • Regularly conducts voter registration drives
  • Supports Delta Days at the State and Nation’s Capital
  • Hosted a Human Trafficking forum
  • Sponsored 12-week healthy challenge for members and the community to encourage a commitment to achieving and adopting healthier lifestyles. The program also raised awareness of various diseases that impact the African American community.
  • Sponsors 5K Run/Walk events
  • Sponsors domestic violence workshops
  • Regularly supports St. Jude’s Children’s Research Hospital through walks and donations
  • HIV/AIDS Awareness – World Aids Day Projects
  • Hosts an Annual Prayer Breakfast
  • Provides education on the Affordable Cares Act
  • Supported the Water Tanks and Wells Project for children in Africa
  • Partnered locally to collect pillowcases to make dresses for young girls in Haiti
  • Co-sponsored backpacks with school supplies for children in Haiti
  • Hosts a Santa Breakfast and provides supplies in backpacks and toys to local students
  • Co-hosted the Caritas Homeless Shelter
  • Supports nursing homes (gifts, games, plants, blankets, etc.)
  • Hosted the first Juneteenth Celebration in Chesterfield County
  • Supports local food banks 

Past Chapter Presidents

  • 1995-1997

    Grace Norbrey

  • 1997 – 1998

    Pereuna Johnson

  • 1998 – 2000

    Delsena Willis-Sammons

  • 2000 – 2004

    Joni Hicks

  • 2004 – 2006

    Michelle McQueen

  • 2006 - 2010

    Dana Bost

  • 2010 – 2012

    Alicia Smith-Freshwater

  • 2012 - 2016

    Annette McFarland

  • 2016 - 2020

    Jane Harris

  • 2020-

    Michelle McQueen